Alice In Wonderland

I’ve just seen Alice In Wonderland in 3D.

I’ve been a fan of Tim Burton and Johnny Depp for quite a while now – Sweeney Todd is one of my all-time favourite films  – so I was very much looking forward to this, and I wasn’t disappointed. I haven’t seen the 1951 Disney animated film since I was a child, and I don’t remember much of it, but this new film stirs a lot of memories, and I’m sure that people who have actually reads the books (sadly I have not) will experience that even more.

Mia Wasikowska is very good as Alice – she portrays her as an outwardly solemn but inwardly curious and imaginative 19-year old, and does so very convincingly. The decision to set the film a decade or so after Alice’s first trip to Wonderland was definitely a good move, as an older Alice fits into Tim Burton’s dark and bizarre world far better than a small child would. Johnny Depp, as expected, is utterly brilliant as the Mad Hatter, simultaneously completely insane and also very human. He’s sometimes criticised for only playing bizarre characters, and perhaps those criticisms are well-founded with roles such as Edward Scissorhands, Willy Wonka and Captain Jack Sparrow, but this is possibly his best portrayal of that kind of character. Helena Bonham Carter plays the Red Queen very well with some excellent CGI, reminiscent of Queenie in Blackadder The Second in a way that must surely be intentional. The mostly British supporting cast, including Alan Rickman, Michael Sheen, Stephen Fry and Barbara Windsor are all excellent, and their voices fit their anthropomorphic characters perfectly. Matt Lucas as Tweedledee and Tweedledum is another perfect choice – far better than the Oompa Loompas in Charlie And The Chocolate Factory, which I never particularly warmed to.

The special effects are excellent – I’ve never seen talking animals look so convincing before. I’m sure that the experience was much improved by being in 3D, although the effect isn’t quite as breathtaking as in Avatar.

This film won’t go down in history as one of the all-time greats, but it is an excellent film nonetheless and one that I strongly recommend you see as soon as possible. Don’t be late for this very important date!

Song

Leave a Reply

