My Reading List

I read far less than I’d like to – when I was much younger I’d read a book a day, but that habit ended during secondary school and since then the number of books that I’ve read purely for enjoyment is shamefully small. I’m trying to change this, and have a fairly lengthy reading list that I’m working my way through. For what it’s worth, here it is – do let me know if you have any good suggestions!

Clever stuff

  • Lewis Wolpert – Six Impossible Things Before Breakfast (I’ve started this recently)
  • Everything by Richard Dawkins – I’ve read a lot of it, but would like to work my way through his books in chronological order.
  • Francis Crick – The Astonishing Hypothesis
  • Barack Obama – The Audacity Of Hope (I loved Dreams From My Father, but couldn’t really get into Audacity and gave up half way through – I’d like to return to it, especially now that we’re a year into Obama’s Presidency)
  • Oliver Sacks – The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat
  • Oliver Sacks – Awakenings
  • Oliver Sacks – An Anthropologist On Mars
  • Leonard Mlodinow – The Drunkard’s Walk
  • Dylan Evans – Placebo

Religious Stuff

  • Thomas Jefferson – The Jefferson Bible
  • The Qur’an

Funny Stuff

  • Alex Horne – Wordwatching (I’ve started this recently)
  • Karl Pilkington – Happyslapped By A Jellyfish (I never got round to reading this)
  • Karl Pilkington – Karlology (as above)
  • The Atheist’s Guide To Christmas

Fiction/Other

  • Brett Easton Ellis – American Psycho
  • Giacomo Casanova – The Story Of My Life
2 Responses to “My Reading List”

  1. You must let me know whether the Pilkington books are worth reading.

  2. His first one, The World Of Karl Pilkington, is basically just transcripts of the podcasts with a few pictures. I’ve read bits of the next two, and there’s far more original material in them.
    I’ve never been a ‘toilet reader’, but they’re designed for that purpose, so I’m going to have to get into that habit.

Leave a Reply

