My first ever blog post!

I’ve finally entered the Blogosphere – something which I never really considered until just a few days ago. I have no idea how long I’ll keep this up for; I guess it largely depends on how popular this blog becomes. At this stage, I really have no idea how any of this works or how people will find this blog, but I’m sure I’ll work it out as I go along, and maybe some time in the future will be able to look back and cringe at how clueless I was when I started.

I decided to start a blog because for the last six years I’ve been an active member of a message board, frequently entering into debates and posting my views on some contentious issues, and I’ve come to realise that arguing with people online may be briefly entertaining, but the discussions tend to go round and round in circles, with no real progress being made. However, I find that such discussions help me to develop my own views and opinions, and more recently I’ve started researching my posts using various scientific literature: I’ve decided that perhaps this work is wasted on a message board and may be put to better use on a blog – provided, of course, that people wish to read it! I’m hoping they will, and if you’re reading this, I’m very grateful to you for sticking with me this far!

I think I’ll mostly write about my views on current affairs and the likes, although I can’t promise that I won’t punctuate the heavy stuff with my thoughts on Lost and Liverpool Football Club. But my main intention is to have an emphasis on science, and perhaps a bit of philosophy, and perhaps occasionally some of the more interesting parts of my life story!

My first main post will, I think, be about my religious beliefs (or lack thereof), and how I think my views affect my life and the lives of those around me. It’s something that I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about and sometimes arguing about over the last 3 years or so. I suspect that this first post will be far broader than future posts, which will perhaps be a bit more focussed.

Leave a Reply

